In conversation with my memories – The Alp Series

I realised that one of the things i enjoy the most, is exploring! As a child i usually waited till the time my mum went out of the house for a while and the minute later i took all my ‘magical’ equipment, a stick a plastic bag and went on for new adventures…! To be honest I never managed go far away from the house – no i wasn’t so courageous as i thought back then! – I usually visited the fields round my house.. but i can assure you I never got bored! In fact i discovered something different every time.., a birds nest, a tree that i could climb on or even a new secret hiding place where i used to hide the ‘treasures’ i found, like beautiful stones, pieces of wood with interesting shapes..!
I remember that several times i sat on one of the biggest trees for hours looking around me,camouflaged from the branches and trees! I was waiting to see the sun setting down while whistling a ‘goodnight’ song my mum taught me back then.
Its quite funny that when i think about these days i remember mostly some moments, some glimpses, shadows and light rays hugging the fields, the trees and rocks.

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 17.51.06

Inside the Wooden Vacation House @Töls, Switzerland My grandfather warms up the house for us by putting pieces of woods in this oven.

During my latest visit in Switzerland, we arrange to go in my Granddads vacation house in the Alps ( Töls ). I forgot how much i missed this place..After all its been a really long time since the last time we all came.
We decided last minute to stay up there over the night ! My two aunts came as well and brought with them some sausages, cheese fondue ( typical – swiss :p ) and of course WINE to keep us warm – as they said.

Me and my brother decided to go for a walk in the woods right at the back of the house and explore like we used to do when we were younger. As we were walking I realised that this ‘jungle’ filled with plants, trees looked so familiar and welcoming. I could recognise some of the rocks, or the trees  – we used to spent hours and hours spending hide and seek.
There was a certain unexplained magic filled in the atmosphere..the forest was no longer looking like a dangerous haunted place but rather as the unraveling of a childhood memory..a playground unfolding in front of our eyes..- there was something sacred about this forest!

I asked my brother if he could take some pictures of me. Of course i told him he could close his eyes till i got the posture – it was really hard for me to use the timer this time, since i didnt have a tripod.
The first attempts were not really successful so my brother volunteered to do the posing. I was a bit unsure for this as i rarely use an other body to model for me.. But in fact my brother had gone through the same experiences in the forest as me..so i gave it a go…

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 18.03.15

I am not sure if i remember this tree lying here .. nevertheless, it certainty grasped my attention as it looked to me as a giant spine !

In the images below both me and my brother are posing. I realised once again that Light and Balance and Tension are key words that accompanied most of my photographic works.

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 19.23.08Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 19.22.50

d

One comment

  1. Pingback: Practise Based Research & Reflective Journal | ANΤΗI EVANGEΛOU

Leave a Reply

